Maelok the Dreadbound

by lazypeon

Maelok the Dreadbound
This is the final model in my third commission, and what a model to finish on! There is a ridiculous amount of detail on this model and very few “flat” areas; for example the skin has scales, open flesh, hanging skin, bone showing through … and exposed muscle! I was intimidated by this model even before I started on it – as I’ve never been a huge fan of “horror” in miniatures.

Because there are so many different areas, I’m not going to do my usual schitck and list all colours used – instead I might draw out the candles, as they don’t follow the studio scheme.

Candles

  • Menoth White Highlight base coat
  • Glaze of Sulfuric Yellow (6 Mixing Medium : 1 Sulfuric Yellow : 1 Water)
  • Secondary glaze for the “brightest” spots.
  • Highlight back to Menoth White Highlight

I don’t much else to say, I’m completely exhausted from painting this guy. I think I took almost as much time getting the candles just right, as I spent on a Boneswarm. I hope the client is happy.